MyNicolet  |  Blackboard  |  Directory  |  Email  |  LibraryContact

News Story

Nicolet College - Nadolny withdraws from Nicolet president search


Nadolny withdraws from Nicolet president search;
Brown public forum today


Nicolet College presidential finalist Ray Nadolny has withdrawn his name from consideration for the post, having accepted an offer for the presidency at Williston State College in North Dakota.

Nadolny is the second candidate to withdraw from consideration in as many weeks after accepting a president's position elsewhere.

Finalist Kerry Youngblood withdrew in early February after accepting the position of president at Cateret Community College in Morehead City, North Carolina.

"The fact that two candidates have already accepted positions as presidents speaks well of the pool of candidates selected for the Nicolet post," said Bob Martini, Nicolet College Board Trustee and chairman of the Presidential Search Committee. "We deemed each to have the skills and qualities necessary for serious consideration to be president. Other colleges obviously agreed."

Nicolet trustees are in the middle of the presidential search process. Three finalists remain. Each will participate in public forums at Nicolet in coming days. Each forum will take place from 11:30 a.m. to 12:30 p.m. in the Nicolet College Theatre. The public is invited to attend the forums and ask questions of each candidate and then submit comments to the Nicolet College Board of Trustees.

The finalists, and the dates of their public forums, include:

Elizabeth Burmaster, Wednesday, Feb. 18;

Jim Brown, Thursday, Feb. 19;

George Karling, Friday, Feb. 20.

Each forum will also be broadcast live at Nicolet's Lakeland campus in Minocqua.
A brief biography of each candidate appears on Nicolet's website at Once there, click on the Presidential Search Finalists link.

A video of each forum will be posted on the Presidential Search Finalists web page shortly after each forum.

The college's trustees are expected to select a president in March. Current president Adrian Lorbetske has held that position for the past 18 years. He is planning to retire June 30.